Saturday, December 27, 2008

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas! I hope Santa was good to everyone, and more importantly, that everyone had a good time with family/friends.

I needed a place to vent, and I originally put this over on my Myspace blog, but it occurred to me that people may not read my Myspace blogs, so I thought I would copy it over here. I guess one could take that to mean I'm making sure everybody reads my thoughts, no matter how they may try to avoid them.

Christmas Day is supposed to be a blessed event, a relaxed day filled with peace and love. If that's the case, then why wasn't my day filled with peace and love? It was mostly filled with silence and ignorance. And a valium and a cooler of beer.

To make a long story short, Alisa accepted a promotion within her company, which just happens to be in Miami, Florida. So we're moving in the very near future. Alisa told her Mother we are moving, and boy isn't it a treat now being around her mother. Her Mother says Alisa is choosing work over family. Her Mother says Alisa doesn't want to be around her family anymore. So I suppose in an attempt to guilt Alisa into not moving, her mother has decided to pull the silent treatment. Maybe I should state here that Alisa is 31 years old. What's that? Old enough to make her own decisions for her own future you say? WOW, what a concept. Can somebody please tell her mother that?

Traditionally, on Christmas day, we have several stops to make, starting with her parents house. Initially I was just going to meet up with Alisa at her Uncle's house later in the afternoon, just to avoid her mother. But after giving it some thought, I realized that I couldn't let Alisa go thru what could be a potential explosion on her own. So we went to her parent's house around noon on Christmas day. We walked in the house, announced MERRY CHRISTMAS, and we were greeted by her dad and brothers. Alisa's mother completely ignored us. I didn't realize adults actually did the silent treatment. I know I experienced it from younger adults (actually teenagers who didn't get their way) but I don't believe I have ever seen it in an adult. It's pretty embarassing, for them I mean.

I guess I have a question. Do people (especially adults) really think the silent treatment will influence a decision? Does somebody really think that when someone makes a decision, and someone else doesn't like it, that if they pull the silent treatment, then that decision will be changed? I feel sorry for whoever may think their silent treatment will change a decision. This silent treatment is only pushing Alisa away quicker. Not only does she want to move, now she says we won't be coming back for Christmas next year. This year was just too stressful, so next year, we are going to gather 'round the palm christmas tree and sing Feliz Navidad :) Of course Margaritas will be flowing.

Thank goodness for the rest of Alisa's family. Everybody else is being very supportive, which seems to be helping. Her Grandparents have given the 'anything you need' speech, and her uncle and aunt have also said they will do whatever we need to help make this transition easier. Even her goofy little brother Bradley, he sees free vacations in his future. And you know what? I'm very close to just buying him a plane ticket to come visit when he doesn't have school. I believe he is good for Alisa. He may be a little nutty, but he's a good kid. Alisa loves spending time with him.

Anyway, so I guess I'm done venting. I hope Alisa's mother will realize that she isn't putting work before family. Alisa got a job promotion. Most parents would be happy for their children. Alisa is trying to further her career. Her career in the company means she will have to relocate. We won't be in Florida forever, in a few years we will probably have to relocate again, so Alisa can move up in her company. How can a parent not be proud of their child for progressing in a nationwide company? Maybe someone needs to let her mother know that there is life outside of Garrett County.

Merry Christmas! Or as I'm going to be saying this time next year...Check me out and my spanish...

Feliz Navidad y prospero ano y Felicidad! (That would be Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!! Thank you Jose Feliciano!)

Rosetta Stone, here I come.

Saturday, November 22, 2008

Where has the time gone....

So I am enjoying breakfast and purusing the internet this morning and realize it has been a looonnnggg time since either of us have posted over here. Apparently this is what happens when you become addicted to MySpace. Toss in the fact that MySpace now has a nice little application for my Blackberry and well...no posts on Blogger.

Soooo...I figured it was time to update everyone on the happenings at the Casa as of late. The animals are well....crazy as ever. Seems though that Rascal (aka Crack Dog) isn't so much of a crack dog anymore. Apparently Austin has now taken that title over. His favorite hobby...chasing cats and boy do they LOVE that...lol. Tracey is still a non-smoker and I am so proud of her for that. I have been very busy at work with projects and trips....which is not unusual. Tracey is in between jobs at the moment so while that is happening, she has a new title....AB (aka Alisa's B**ch)....lol. Who knew that job even existed. Something tells me though that is why she is so aggressively trying to find a new job title...the pay is horrible.

So that is a brief summary of the happenings in our world. Nothing exciting, just entertaining.

Monday, September 22, 2008

What to do when you can't talk....BLOG

Well, so much for thinking I only had a cold. Turns out I have Tracheal Bronchitis. What is that you might ask? I ask the same thing, so please let me know when you figure it out. I googled it and I came up with a bunch of bunk and one link that got my attention. Tracheal Bronchitis in dogs, aka kennel cough.

So there it is. I basically have kennel cough. NICE.

I woke up this morning and had absolutely no voice. That's never happened to me before. I've been squeaky, I've had the whiskey-janis joplin voice, but no voice at all? Never happened. I had to text Alisa to call my Dr. to get me an appointment this morning. I went to work, and as soon as I opened my mouth, the laughs started. Yeah, they aren't too compassionate at my work. Fortunately I was only there for an hour and a half before I had to leave for the Dr.

So at the Dr's office, she asks if I smoke. I very proudly said (whispered) NO, I just quit almost 2 weeks ago. She was obviously happy to hear that, and proceeded to tell me that my lungs were clear, so my infection was in my larynx. This is where she starts spouting off doctor stuff and I'm trying desperately to identify at least every other word she's saying. Really, I'm only listening for those magic words....'I prescribe', and 'antibiotic'. Finally I heard those words, but then she added some unexpected goodness to my visit. 'You need to rest at home, losing your voice is nothing to mess with, can you be off work'. Can I be off work? Did I really just hear that question? Well hell yes I can be off work. I don't remember the last time I had an actual doctor's note, but I have one now. I am to be off work for 2 days so I can 'recover comfortably, and not be tempted to talk at work'. SWEET. My orders are to take my antibiotic, and not talk. Not even whisper. Apparently I am to use hand signals or hang a dry erase board around my neck. Alisa leaves for an out of town work session on Tuesday, so being silent shouldn't be a problem for me for the next couple days. Tonight, however, was a bit difficult. I dare you to try to not talk to someone you live with. It's hard to do, even if you have no voice. When I want to get Alisa's attention, and no words would come out, I would make that clicking noise with my tongue. Sometimes I snap my fingers if she doesn't hear the clicking noise. Fortunately I'm not bothered that she's laughing at me when I do that. It really is comical to see. All I need is a helmet to make sure I don't lick the windows. Ohhhh, I didn't say that.

ANYWAY, I'm on my own for the next few days, 2 of which will be spent completely at home, alone, with the animals and no talking. This will definitely be an experience. Hopefully I don't drive myself bonkers. I will probably be online a lot, just to hang on to my sanity. I can't even call the dogs. I try, but nothing comes out. I wonder how quickly they can react to finger snaps and pointing? We shall see. So far they just look at me funny. As if they are saying 'Mom, why are you squeaking?' I think they only come to me out of curiousity instead of minding me.

Since I can't talk, I will probably blog again very soon. I need to talk SOMEHOW.

And yet again, off to my couch I go. One day I'll be able to sleep horizontally again. Sleeping propped up on the couch is WONDERFUL for the back.

*cough* g'nite *cough*

Saturday, September 20, 2008

Excuse me, can I bum a smo....sucker?


So Day #11 is in the books, onto Day #12. I have to say, this is much easier than I ever thought it could be. Of course, I have to remind myself that it's probably easy because I have that nifty little patch on my arm. At first I thought oye, 8 weeks of patches, but now I'm thinking only 8 weeks of patches? I imagine when I reach that 8 week mark, I'll be ready to say goodbye to these stinky patches. Fingers crossed.

So, my reward for becoming a non-smoker? A cold. Yippee skippee, a freakin cold, with a cough that is far worse than any cough I ever had when I smoked. Talk about irony. The cough actually concerned me so I did some googling, and low and behold, once a person stops smoking, they can expect to cough, usually very 'productively', for 1-3 weeks. It's the body getting rid of all the crap in its system. Super. I stop smoking, I get a cold, and I have to sleep on the couch so I don't keep everyone awake at night. This stopping smoking thing is GREAT.

I had a coughing fit at work. One of the ladies there hollered from across the room 'hey, how's that non-smoking thing working out for you', sarcastically of course. I however answered her. IT'S *cough* GREAT *cough* bitch *cough*. She laughed, and went outside to smoke. Probably smoking one of the cigs out of a pack I had leftover and gave her. I stop smoking, I get a cold, I get a cough, I sleep on the couch, someone else smokes my smokes. YooooHooooo....where are you silver lining? Come out come out wherever you arrrrrre.

I have noticed I don't have specific days that are harder than others, I have specific times. Like right after a big dinner, ooh that's a biggie. Or when I'm taking the dogs out, that's a big one there too. Standing at the stove making dinner, I didn't realize how often I smoked when I made dinner. But apparently it was all the time. Let me just say, when a sucker won't do, there have been a few straws that have met their untimely demise.

So, the bottom line is I'm still on the non-smoking wagon, and surprisingly, no slips. There were even a couple days when I left the house in the morning and forgot to put on a new patch. I was a little nervous, but I didn't smoke, didn't even crave it. But that's not surprising, since I didn't normally smoke during the day anyway, only in the evenings. I know, crazy. But regardless of when/how often I smoked, it's still a challenge. The weekends are also tough, especially now during football season. Maybe I can make a pact with myself. Only smoke when my Bengals score a touchdown. I'll never smoke again.

So here I sit. Practically middle of the night, waiting to get tired to hopefully grab a nap on the couch in between coughing fits. I may be enjoying a beer, and I may be up late, but I'm NOT smoking. It's a process, and hopefully this stupid cough will go away soon so I can sleep in my own bed again and attempt to get back on my normal schedule. Sleeping on the couch makes me feel like I got in trouble, when in fact I'm trying to do the exact opposite.

Slapping a patch on every morning now seems more like a habit than smoking does. I wonder if there's a program to help me get off the patches?

Maybe me getting a cold is a way to help me get off the smokes. I never smoked when I had a cold, which means I would go 2 or 3 days without a smoke. Maybe I should have taken those hints.

Off to my couch I go. I hope to report back soon with a Day 22 report. I am a non-smoker now. If I slip, it means just that, I slipped, but I am a non-smoker. Yay for me!

*cough* G'nite *cough*

Thursday, September 18, 2008

Mac attack....

I decided I needed to check out what all the hype is about Mac/Apple computers so I bought one. Let me just say right now...I love it!! I can't really explain why other than I am a big fan of the OS X operating system vs. Windows Vista. It is very user friendly and seems to run smoothly. Originally I got it because Mom started a new job with the local school system and they use Mac computers and I knew she would have questions that I wouldn't be able to answer unless I knew what the heck she was talking about. So that is my excuse that I used when I told Tracey I needed a Mac. She bought the excuse and I bought the Mac....LOL. Now I need an iPod Touch....you know the drill....you need accessories!!!

And in case you were wondering....Tracey is doing an outstanding job with her quest to become a non-smoker. I am so proud of her.....she made it through the first week with flying colors. And I have no bruises either....suweet!!!

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

My Journey to Becoming a Non-Smoker

So my journey has begun. I finally took that monumental step to becoming a non-smoker. I slapped a nicotine patch on my arm today instead of sticking a smoke in my mouth. This is when my willpower really needs to step up to the plate. I have done a lot of reading, I've had lots of suggestions from my friends who have become non-smokers, and I also have a CD, which I haven't listened to yet, but I have a feeling I'll be listening to it very soon. I've been told to use suckers, chew on straws, and I have pamphlets that have suggestions of what to do when you 'feel the urge to smoke'. Suggestion #8 in one particular pamphlet actually says to put 20 cents in a jar for every cigarette I don't smoke, and count the money I've saved. Yeah, ok. Now I have about $14.80 in that jar, and I still need a smoke. Suggestion #9 says to buy something special. Ok. I know what I can buy to make me feel better that would be special. A PACK OF SMOKES. This pamphlet has to be a joke. Suggestion #19 says to take a nap. What? I'm jonesing for a smoke, and they want me to fall asleep? Oh for the love of all that is holy. Yeah, I'll get right on that. Suggestion #11, surf the internet. Maybe these folks should know that when I surf the internet, I have a smoke. Suggestion #20 says to sing. Really? Well, they maybe onto something here. I can definitely sing. Not necessarily on key, but I can sing. So if I want a smoke at midnight, I should start singing? I'm sure Alisa would LOVE that. Suggestion #32, wash my dog. Are they serious? My dogs have to be bathed everytime I feel the urge for a smoke? Those poor dogs, but they would be the cleanest dogs in the world. Just when they are about dry from the first bath, they would get bathed again.

But seriously, I have begun my journey to becoming a non-smoker. Will I fail? NO, I know I need to become a non-smoker. I know what happens to long-term smokers, I'm no dummy. Will I slip? I hope not, but that's all a part of becoming a non-smoker. If you slip, you jump right back on that wagon and go again. I know how hard this first day is. Why would I want to have to go thru this first day again? That alone seems to be enough incentive not to slip.

I knew I was going to become a non-smoker. I initially set my non-smoking date at August 4th. Unfortunately, I had to deal with the unexpected passing of our dog, Morgan, on August 3rd. Rule #1 of becoming a non-smoker: don't attempt to become a non-smoker when there are other 'events' going on in your life. So, my date was postponed. I didn't set a new date, I decided I would decide at the last minute. And that's what I did. I realized I had mourned for Morgan, and I was ready again to become a non-smoker. So last night, Tuesday night, I handed Alisa my smokes and told her it was time. She hid her joy very well, and was super supportive in spite of me chain-smoking for the last few minutes. I gave her requests to get rid of all ashtrays and make my smokes disappear. When I got out of bed this morning, all of the ashtrays were gone, and so were all of my smokes.

So here I sit, with a patch on my arm, strapped on with medical tape because it was lifting a little bit, and my brain saw that as nicotine trying to escape. Alisa strapped on the medical tape so all that nicotine can stay where it needs to be. I have 8 weeks of patches. EESH. Suckers. Suckers. Suckers. That seems to be my saving grace.

One day down. 4 thousand billion to go. Wish me luck.

And Alisa? She's my saving grace. Willpower? If my willpower fails me, all I have to do is think of her, and know how happy she is just knowing that I'm becoming a non-smoker. I get hugged more, cuddled more, and kissed more since I don't have the smoke smell on me. Hopefully she will never have to kiss an ashtray anymore.

Oh, and P.S. Notice I didn't use the words 'quit smoking'. I was told a long time ago that those were negative words and we don't quit smoking, we become 'non-smokers'. Sounds good to me. I'm no quitter.

Here's hoping I can become a non-smoker.




Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Me and my gang....


So we all figured the day would come when Tracey and I would decide to get another dog as a companion for Rascal.  Last Friday we welcomed a new member to the family....Austin.  He is a retriever mix (we suspect a Spaniel), 5 months old, and just as sweet as can be.  He has made himself quite at home since he arrived.  Much to our surprise, Austin and Rascal have become good buddies very quickly.  By Saturday they were chasing each other around the yard and playing with toys and stealing bones from one another.  Rascal can't wait for me to let Austin out of his bed in the morning so they can run outside and play before Mom goes to work.  
We have discovered several things about Austin over the past few days.....
1.  He loves to turn our kitchen floor into his own slip and slide as he likes to dive head and paws first into the water bucket and then attempt to swim which then causes water to go everywhere.  Thank heavens for ceramic tile!!!!
2.  He has aerodynamic ears.  Literally, when he runs, his ears go straight back and he looks like he has a swimmers cap on...that's how tight they are to his head.  Too funny to watch!!!
3.  He loves the cats.   Austin thinks the cats should love to play tag and be chased around the house just like Rascal does.  He gets very upset when one of the cats decides that vertical elevation courtesy of the coffee table or end tables is their best defense to his advances.  What ticks him off even more than that......when they dive through the cat door and go downstairs where he can't get to them at all.
Needless to say it is chaos per usual at the casa this week.  But I have to say....it is great entertainment!!!

Saturday, August 16, 2008

I should not be allowed to go anywhere alone....


So this week is another local fair. Lots of good food, good family time, and a hot tub purchase. Yes you read that right...we went to the fair and bought a hot tub. Now this is not just any old hot tub...this is a portable hot tub.

Basically we were suckered in by two selling points....

1. We bought the tub from "family".
2. We are even bigger suckers for 12 months same as cash purchases.

I discovered this wonderful little household accessory first on Thursday and promptly told Tracey that I wanted her to check it out last night. Per usual, she was skeptical. But thanks to Ellen, the very nice sales lady, she too was sold.

It should arrive sometime this week and we are already in full landscaping mode to prep a nice area complete with walking pavers and new deck steps down to it. Good thing we bought a hot tub because we are going to need it to sooth those aching muscles from the new landscaping project.

I really need to learn to say no....my wallet would love me for that!!!

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Time heals all wounds.......

Every pet owner knows the day will come when they will have to say goodbye to their beloved family member.  Unfortunately Tracey and I had to experience this very recently with our geriatric dog Morgan.  Morgan would have been 12 in September and I have had her since she was a wee little pup of 8 weeks.  When I first saw her I had to laugh because I swore she would never grow into her ears.  She was a Labrador retriever with the sweetest disposition you could imagine.  She loved belly rubs, being my shadow, and peanut butter.  

The first time the two ladies of my life met, let's just say it probably wasn't love at first sight.  Tracey was intimidated by Morgan's size (76 pounds to be exact at the time) and Morgan had no intention of sharing me with anyone.  Needless to say, after a few weeks of getting to know one another, they were friends for life.

You may wonder why we called her our geriatric dog.  Well for about the last year or so, our evenings consisted of "pill time".  Morgan had her own senior pill container.  You know the 7 day a week one with the little letters (M, T, W, T, F, S, S) on each section.  Each week Tracey would drop two pills and one joint supplement in each slot.  I am convinced those two bonded over cheese, peanut butter, and pills every evening.  It was their special time.

Morgan brought much joy to my life and for that I will be forever thankful.  Even knowing the outcome, I wouldn't give up that time for any amount of money.  Just like Tracey and I, Rascal too misses his companion.  When Rascal first came into our lives, he so desperately wanted Morgan to play with him.  However, when she wasn't in the mood to play she would certainly let him know....she would take her large paw and put it on the top of his head and hold him to the floor until he relented.  She was Queen of the Casa.

We are convinced when she reached the Rainbow Bridge, she gave the Master what for about her opinions on thunderstorms.  Long story short...she hated them.  So much so, that she turned into a rather large lap dog during such weather events.  Of course monkey see, monkey do...Rascal was soon to follow.  And who was the lucky recipient sitting in the recliner under that mound of fur...you guessed it....ME!!!  

Rest in peace my furry friend.  You were truly the best.

Thursday, July 24, 2008

It's Fair time again.....

One of the perks of growing up in a rural area is the tradition of the county fair. This week is our local fair and Tracey and I have went the past two evenings to watch a couple of concerts there. Now I think all of us can agree that without a doubt the food is the best part of the fair. I mean you have cotton candy, caramel apples, dippin' dots, fried oreos, french fries, milkshakes, funnel cakes, hot sausage sammiches, fried pickles...and the list goes on and on. Of course one must plan out the eating schedule when attending the fair. For example, Tuesday night was burgers and funnel cake night. Last night was pulled pork subs and fried oreos. Saturday night will most likely be cheese steak sub, fries, and cotton candy night.

Looks like I need to join a gym this week......

One other weakness that presented itself at the fair this week....5 little black puppies who are rescue pups that need homes. All I'm sayin' is is that Tracey better not send me to the fair by myself on Saturday night or we will be sure to end up with yet another creature in the house. Next thing you know we will have to buy a farm to support our growing animal kingdom.

Thursday, July 17, 2008

5 Years, is that all?

Apparently I have a few updates to make in this one post. I’ll try to do this in order.

First, my 4th of July fireworks excitement. Several years ago I was banned from setting off any fireworks because we have a dog (Morgan, 12 years old) who gets absolutely petrified by the snapping and whistling and popping of fireworks. So I have been lighting sparklers the last few years, just to appease my firework addiction, and to make the rest of the family happy. It was a nice compromise for everybody. But this year, I found a fireworks tent that had their fireworks rated in regards to sound. A rating of 1 meant it was very quiet, no big noise or whistles or popping or anything, so I bought a few. WELL…

I came home, and that night (the 4th) I set off one of these fireworks. It was a cone thing that was just supposed to shoot pretty sparks in the air, but after the prettiness it started whistling, and holy crap, did Morgan start shaking, and needless to say, so did I. Fortunately the cone fell over and put itself out, so it stopped. I was in the middle of the driveway and I looked up to the deck where Alisa and Morgan were standing, and I could tell I was in trouble. I learned a very important lesson that night. Don’t believe a word the fireworks people tell you, they only want your money. After that fiasco, I went and got my sparklers and stood on the deck and swirled them. I looked so cool. I’m sure people driving by were thinking ‘wow, I wish I was her right now’.

Ok, so next on my list is our anniversary. Yesterday. 5 years. Hard to believe. Alisa says she can’t believe I’ve put up with her for this long, but I think the same thing about her putting up with me. She is right when she says we have both grown a LOT. We have learned what takes precedence, we have learned what needs to just roll off our shoulders, and we have learned what needs to be addressed. Basically we are an old married couple. I’m not complaining at all, by no means. Comfortable is one of the best feelings I have ever had. Knowing I will come home to someone, and not have to hide anything or pretend to be something I’m not, is absolute heaven.

We both sort of slipped on the anniversary gifts, but we managed to come up with something at the last minute. Alisa got me a 4 gig MP3 player, which I absolutely love. I’ve never had one so I’m an mp3 player dummy trying to learn how to download stuff to it. I did a little research online and found what the traditional and modern gifts were for the 5 year anniversary. Traditional is wood, modern is silverware. I decided to give her a regular gift (something Craftsman of course) , and also add my own personal touch of the traditional/modern gifts. Since traditional is wood, I gave her a firelog. If nothing else, it got a really good giggle out of her. For modern, I gave her a voucher that said I am officially giving the go ahead to pick out new dishes. She has been after me for a while for a new set of dishes, and since I’ve had my dishes for 15 years, I figured it’s time. She was pretty excited about that. Besides, I like things to have meanings. When we use our new future dishes, we’ll be able to say we got them for our 5th anniversary. What she doesn’t realize is we’ll have those dishes for probably another 15 years. Shhhhhhhhh, don’t tell her.

I still think our 2nd anniversary is the one that we’ll remember forever. That’s the year we officially exchanged rings in the guest room that I turned into a beach paradise. I keep bringing that up because I am damn proud of that day. Blown up picture of the ocean we took, a baby pool full of sand, and beach music playing in the background. I don’t think I have ever planned for something more than I did for that day. I guess it worked, because we’re still together, and we still talk about it. She wanted to exchange rings on the beach, and I was able to make that happen. WooHoo for me.

Life is good. Very good. My relationship with her mother is even getting better. Who knew. I think her mother is finally getting used to the fact that I’m not going anywhere, and I honestly believe she knows I make sure her daughter is well taken care of. The last few visits have been very nice, hardly any tension. I guess it’s true, it just takes time for some people to come to terms with their own feelings. Maybe 5 years is the magic number.

I have a feeling I'll have to come up with something pretty special for the 10 year anniversary. Alisa is petrified of ships, but she said we can go on a cruise for our 10th. I think I better get that agreement in writing. If anybody out there buys stock, buy stock in dramamine now, because it will only go up in the next few years.

Later :)

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

Can you believe it has been 5 years....

So today is our 5th Anniversary....who knew she wouldn't strangle me by now...lucky me!!! Gotta give Tracey credit though as she manages to run the household and the animals while I am running off to here and there all the time. Yes I know...it is a miracle that she hasn't poisoned me, burnt the house down, or got us kicked out of the neighborhood, but I must say she has grown a lot in the last 5 years...actually we both have.

So what to get her for our anniversary. Now I must admit I am the Queen of airport gifts and yes I was traveling Monday and Tuesday and yes I did wait until practically the last minute to get her gift, but I think I done good. What is it you might ask....well right now I can't say because she hasn't gotten it yet. I am sure she will update y'all later on it. And for the record...no it is not arsenic...lol.

Happy Anniversary Pookie!!

Tuesday, July 8, 2008

The Whole Fandamly....


So we usually have one family picnic over a holiday and it is usually over Labor Day. This year we received a special request to have it over the Fourth...which we did. So Sunday afternoon was spent with my family feasting on burgers, dogs, and plenty of other yummies. I have to say each year the picnics and quality family time gets better and better. My Mom and Tracey are now swapping recipes...who knew that day would come. My Mom and Grandmother gave Bud Light Lime a try and I believe the funny faces they made sealed the deal that they definitely aren't into flavored beer. Luckily that just means more for me...lol.


Good food...good drinks...good music....good pool equals a good time had by all.


Next up...the first annual company picnic at Casa de TNT. If it is anything like the Christmas party we are in for a hellava good time!!!

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

The Big Blog Combo of 2008

So I had this big ole blog typed up, but apparently my laptop has a button that should be labeled 'deletes all that was typed and never to be found again'. Nice. So I'm relegated to using the short and sweet version, which is too bad because I thought I was pretty brilliant in my previous never-to-be post. Damn.

Since we blog SO OFTEN (ha) we have decided to just combine our blogs and deactivate my blog, or de-blogivate it, or whatever you do to a blog. This way we can put all our pictures in one place, and we won't have to have a discussion over which one of us will blog about stuff. Last night Alisa asked me which one of us was going to blog about the new garage, and since she was poised at the puter with the blog site up and ready, I took the hint. Before I could say 'I think you should', her fingers got to tapping. So I'm moving over here now.

Who knows, we might get to be better at this blogging thing if we share it.

Monday, June 23, 2008

Famous in a small town....


So today is the day we have been waiting on for a few weeks (maybe even a year)...the delivery of our new storage barn. Now for those of you who know me well, you know by now that I never do things on the small scale when it comes to tools and such. And this barn is no exception...336 square feet of storage heaven (12' x 28' to be exact)!!! We planned carefully, shoveled 16.5 tons of gravel, and were all set for the big day. I even took off from work early so that should really tell you how stoked I was about this.


Now Tracey being the worry wart got a bit nervous when the guy raised the barn into the air about 25 feet while placing it on the nice gravel pad we had worked so hard to prep over the weekend. Now granted we should have been a bit offended when the delivery guy goes "I don't know about takin' directions from women" as we were trying to help guide him into position, but it was actually funny to us. Even funnier was when we put the level on the building and it was perfect when all was said and done...take that!!!


We thought we would have no trouble filling up this extra storage with our stuff, but low and behold we have found ourselves carefully rethinking precise placement of four wheelers, a riding mower, and tools. Tracey's favorite part...the 6 foot storage loft we added in the roof. She didn't find it very funny when I said that she at least had a nice, new place to sleep when she is in the doghouse. Good thing I am cute otherwise I could have a nice shiner right about now...lol.


This day was exciting for us, but apparently we are now the talk of the town. People have slowed down driving by, gawked, and stopped on the side of the road to check out our new barn. Famous in a small town...who knew. Just wait till we get to church on Sunday...let the fun begin.

Sunday, June 22, 2008

New Hermans

So the pond became overwhelmed with algae, and no matter what I did, it didn't fix it. I ended up killing the last 2 Hermans. Apparently I put too much algaecide in the water and that did them in. Not a pleasant day in the TnT household. Alisa was upset with me for killing the fish, as she should be, and I wasn't happy with myself. I get attached to stupid stuff, even fish. No need to punish me because I punished myself enough with the loss of the fish. Silly to some, but not to me.

So I drained the pond, scrubbed it clean, and refilled it. Talk about a process. If that happens again, I vote to buy a new pond and scrap the old one. Too much work.

So today I went to a different pond store, and the owner schooled me in Pond 101. I bought more pond plants, and I also got new Hermans. I got a comet, a sarrasas comet, a butterfly koi, and a shebunken. I got the shebunken because of the name. It's just too funny. It belongs at our house.

The pond has now become my project, so I'm in charge of making sure I don't kill our new fish. I found out that when you put fish food in the pond, it can create algae, so we have the potential of starving our new Hermans. Hopefully they'll eat the algae off the roots of the floating plants. That's what they're supposed to do anyway. Maybe if we don't feed them as much, they will eat the algae. I'm willing to give it a shot because I really don't want to have to suffer the consequences of killing more fish.

So now the pond is clean and has 4 new inhabitants. And believe you me, I'll be keeping a close eye on that pond. No more dead fish if I have anything to say about it.

My Dad asked me if I named them yet. I told him I just named them Hermans 5,6,7, and 8. He said 'I think I would change their names, Herman doesn't seem to be a very lucky name'.

Thanks Dad.

Sunday, June 1, 2008

First there were 4 and now we have 3....

So an update on the fishes (Herman 1 2 3 & 4). Yesterday while feeding our little swimmers, we discovered that one Herman was missing. We searched high and low and have come to the conclusion that Herman 4 is no more. Not sure if he abandoned pond or if another creature of the country decided he would make a light snack.

But on another note...Tracey and I have decided to try our hand at gardening and growing so veggies this summer. So far so good on that front. We are finally starting to see some life sprout from the special garden box we built. Granted Tracey is probably going to eat only the carrots and zucchini, but none the less, it is fun to watch Mother Nature work her magic.

Monday, May 26, 2008

A Fish Named Herman


So I know it has been a loooonnnngggg time since I posted a new blog entry...but as the saying goes...too much to do, so little time to do it in. I decided to take advantage of a long holiday weekend and extend it by a few extra days. One of the projects I wanted to complete was to install a fish pond in the front yard. Seems like an easy enough task and after a trip to Lowe's to purchase the easy-to-install kit, I was on my way. I successfully installed the pond kit while Tracey was at work on Wednesday. By that evening, it has water and a fountain in it. Not bad for a days work I said to myself. So on Thursday Tracey played hookey and we went to the fish store for some creatures to inhabit the new pond. After being called suckers by the two guys at the fish store who insisted that we needed this chemical for that and this salt for this reason, we finally left the store with $40 in chemicals and 4 fishes.


Little did I know that fish need names when they are in an outdoor pond. But Tracey insisted that at least one of them have a name and his(its) name...Herman. Why...I have no idea, but Herman it is. Now the real question....which one is Herman? I have no clue!!! When asked what she decided to name the other 3 fishes in the pond...her response was Herman 2, Herman 3, and Herman 4. Apparently that makes it easier so we don't give them complexes and call them the wrong name. Why me Lord...why me?


Happy Memorial Day...I hope everyone enjoys the day and eats way too many hot dogs and burgers!!!

Sunday, March 9, 2008

Is it spring yet?


Since coming home from a nice, warm trip to Florida a few weeks ago, I have had a serious case of Spring Fever. It seems that it has tried to see how much it can snow, rain, snain, and just be downright miserable since we returned. Now me, I love the warm weather and spending time outdoors. To help get a jump on things I decided to create my spring home project list. After spending a mere two minutes on it, I now have a list of 11 things that I would like to accomplish. Having spent two years finishing off the downstairs of our house, I have decided that my spring list is not going to be a list of impossible things...simply, things that can be completed in the course of a day or two at the most.

The most important thing on the list is a getting a nice portion of our yard fenced in for the dogs to have their own outdoor oasis. Simply put, Tracey and I are tired of having to go out with them in the rain and snow. We would much rather open up the door and let them out to roam and do their thing. Secretly I think Rascal enjoys making us go out 87 times a day.

Since the clocks have been forwarded one hour, I am hoping to have more daylight to work with in the evenings, which will mean GOLF on the weekends. I mean seriously, who wants to work on the weekend when they can go out and play a game that is an endless series of tragedies obscured by the occasional miracle. Time to polish the clubs and pack the bag for a new season!!! As you can see from the pic...I need it. Great form...ball is still on the tee!!! Just my luck!

Monday, February 25, 2008

Tag...I'm It (according to Lindsay)

Ok, so here goes.....

10 Years Ago:
The year was 1998 and I was in my junior year of college. I was a full time accounting major, working part time and cramming for exams with the help of Doritos, Mt. Dew, and Skittles. Helluva combo don't you think.

5 Things On My List Of Things To Do Today:
Well my day is almost done, but today my day consisted of the driving to a meeting with state and county officials to review a facility design plan, socialize with people who can influence my career in the waste business, make sure Tracey remembered to schedule the car for service, unlock the home heating oil tank so I can have fuel delivered tomorrow so we don't freeze to death till spring, and load the trash and recyclables.

3 Bad Habits:
OCD (according to Tracey), biting my fingernails, and being a workaholic

Places I Have Lived:
Maryland and Pennsylvania

Jobs I Have Had:
Cashier, Bookkeeper, Ice Cream Maker, Office Manager, Asst. Manager, and Manager (I see a pattern here)

Things Most People Don't Know About Me:
Hmmm...that's a toughy because I am usually an open book. I guess one thing might be that I wanted to be a radio DJ when I was younger. I think that was because I thought I could get free concert tickets and meet cool celebrities.

Hmmm....ok I tag Tracey (since she hasn't responded to Linday's tag..guilt might work this time) and Susan. Man I need more friends!!

Monday, February 18, 2008

Some fun in the sun....


After spending winter thus far at home, it is nice to finally be in the great sunshine state of Florida. We left Baltimore on Saturday and it was 37. We landed about 2.5 hours later and it was 87!!! How sweet is that!! On Sunday Tracey, her Mom, and I went to the Daytona 500. Now I have to say it is pretty funny to take someone who isn't a big racing fan to the biggest race of the season. We got a cute picture of her wearing scanner headsets surrounded by a few hundred dieheard NASCAR fans.


Three Daytona 500 tickets - $300

Snacks and Suveniors = $200

Hearing "The Mom" go "They're nuts!!!" when the cars go racing by at 187 mph.....Priceless


Today we are off to Orlando and Universal Studios to see the Blue Man Group and have dinner at Margarittaville. Tommorrow thru Thursday we are staying at Disney for a work conference for me. I am a little nervous leaving Tracey unattended for over 8 hours on Wednesday while I am busy with work stuff. When she looks at me and goes "Now how much trouble can I really get into", it can't be good. I am sure there will be at least one good story to tell when we get back.

Sunday, February 3, 2008

Super Bowl.....Super Snacks!!!

What's not to love about Super Bowl Sunday.....a little pigskin and a whole lotta snacks. I mean isn't that the whole point of watching the game....well accept for the commercials and a half-way decent halftime show. Personally I am hoping for an upset..GO GIANTS!!!

I am now off to partake of some corn dogs, cheeseball and crackers, chocolate chip cookie bars, popcorn, nachos, and whatever else I can find around the kitchen. Good thing I can spend the rest of the week running around work like crazy to burn off the calories!!!

Sunday, January 27, 2008

Duct tape....a must have in any home


I have come to the conclusion that duct tape is a must have in any home...and the new cool colors are sweet too. Last weekend we decided to install that window shrink wrap stuff on the downstairs windows to help with a little draft problem we were having. So Tracey and I get the stuff installed and were really proud of ourselves. Considering neither of us got stuck to the double sided tape, we thought we done good. Now Dozer, our youngest, really likes to lounge in the window sills downstairs. Apparently he got a little ticked off that we blocked his access and decided to show us once again who is really the boss in our house. While we were off at work one day last week, he decided to try and gain access into his window through the shrink wrap leaving about three holes in it. Well I got home and was told about what happend. I realized that I wasn't in the mood to redo the whole window that night so I decided to make a quick fix. Three small pieces of duct tape over the wholes and the draft was gone again. Good as new right? WRONG!!!

After Tracey discovered my quick fix to the problem, she laughed hysterically and then proceeed to tell me I need to fix it the right way over the weekend. My response..."Yes dear." So after a little repair job, the window has been redone and all is well again. At least until Dozer decides he wants to sit in the window again and we play this cat and mouse game all over again. Moral of the story...even if you think it is cool to use duct tape and a pocket knife like MaGyver to fix something around the house...be prepared to find out that your partner doesn't think it is so cool.

Thursday, January 17, 2008

Reasons why I should not be left home alone....

So I have had the pleasure of a few days of R&R...which I might add were much needed....this week. I had a few things on my to-do list to accomplish and the rest of my itinerary was pretty much free time. But after being left alone to my own self for a few days, I have discovered my Top 3 reasons why this shouldn't happen again any time soon.

1. One of the cats mysteriously gets out and I have to go wondering through the yard following paw tracks in the snow. I swear that cat is Houdini. Tracey's response..."Shut the door next time genius". Who knew.

2. Left to peruse the internet, I decide that I should get Tracey a special t-shirt for her upcoming birthday...a rainbow colored palm tree shirt. She likes the beach and purdy palm trees so I thought why not. She proceeds to tell me that she will only wear it to my family functions. Smartarse.

3. Left alone during the day with only the animals causes me to start talking in their language and when I go to the mailbox talking to myself, the neighbors get the weirdest looks on their faces. As if the two chicks living together who wear cargo shorts and muscle shirts to mow the yard didn't cause them some alarm to begin with.

Needless to say, it is a good thing I am back in the office tomorrow.

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

I hope this is not a prelude to the rest of the year.....


So I am sitting in my recliner having just watched the ball drop and having just shared a New Year's toast with Tracey when I happen to notice an area of blood on the living room carpet. Now with 5 animals in the house, I automatically conclude that it has to be one of them. Rascal...nope, Dozer....nope, Pudo....nope, Bristol....nope....and lastly....Morgan....yeap that's the one. So I get Morgan onto the kitchen tile and soon realize that this is more blood than my queazy little tummy can handle. Next step....holler for Tracey to come help. She grabs some dish towels and paper towels, then heads for the rubber gloves. More blood....but where in her mouth is it coming from. By now I am in a mild panic and head for the phone to call the vet. At this point roughly 15 minutes have passed. I get the vet's answering service attendant who asks the usual stuff...name, pet's name, age, medical issue...etc. Finally she says she is going to page the vet on call and have her call us. Less than two minutes pass and the phone rings.....ahhhhh as luck would have it, our vet is the one on call this late night...lucky us!!! So I proceed to explain what is happening, time lapse since it started, all that good stuff. Now remember, my tummy is queazy. Dr. Malec suggests that we wait another 15 minutes to see if it clots. Ummm...I don't thinks so. Finally she relents and says she will meet us at the vet hospital...whewwww. Ok, grab blankets, prep car, do a headcount to ensure we haven't lost any of the others in this excitement...finally at 1:30 AM this morning we are off to see the vet.

We arrive 25 minutes later....after Tracey telling me several times not to speed as the cops will be out in full force. I figure....If they decide to chase me, they are gonna follow me all the way to the vet's cause I ain't stoppin'!! We get Morgan out of the car (now mind you, Tracey has doggy blood on her shirt, pants, rubber gloves....not a pretty sight I must say) and the Dr. Malec meets us at the door. Back through the hall we go to the surgery area....a blood trail the whole way. At this point, we definitely know it ain't gonna stop without the vet's help.

Finally we have found the source. Apparently while chewing on her bone at home, Morgan bit her tongue. Next step...stitches. Tracey and the vet put me on a stool and tell me not to look while they stitch up my sweet baby Morgan. Who knew Tracey could fill is as a vet tech!!! A little sedative, a few stitches, a shot of IV fluids, and Morgan is good as new and the blood has stopped flowing. Whoohoooo!! The funniest part after that....Tracey repeatedly asking Dr. Malec if she can mop up the blood off of the floors...how precious is she. Now me being the numbers cruncher knows that the cleanup fee is gonna be on the bill and at this point it is a little before 3 AM and I just want to take my dog home and get some sleep.

All I got to say is....

1. I love our vet!!!
2. I am thinking we should really look into pet insurance.
3. I can pooper scoop the yard, but the sight of blood does me in.

and last but not least...

I hope the rest of the year is less eventful!!!

Happy New Year Everyone!!!