Tuesday, January 1, 2008

I hope this is not a prelude to the rest of the year.....


So I am sitting in my recliner having just watched the ball drop and having just shared a New Year's toast with Tracey when I happen to notice an area of blood on the living room carpet. Now with 5 animals in the house, I automatically conclude that it has to be one of them. Rascal...nope, Dozer....nope, Pudo....nope, Bristol....nope....and lastly....Morgan....yeap that's the one. So I get Morgan onto the kitchen tile and soon realize that this is more blood than my queazy little tummy can handle. Next step....holler for Tracey to come help. She grabs some dish towels and paper towels, then heads for the rubber gloves. More blood....but where in her mouth is it coming from. By now I am in a mild panic and head for the phone to call the vet. At this point roughly 15 minutes have passed. I get the vet's answering service attendant who asks the usual stuff...name, pet's name, age, medical issue...etc. Finally she says she is going to page the vet on call and have her call us. Less than two minutes pass and the phone rings.....ahhhhh as luck would have it, our vet is the one on call this late night...lucky us!!! So I proceed to explain what is happening, time lapse since it started, all that good stuff. Now remember, my tummy is queazy. Dr. Malec suggests that we wait another 15 minutes to see if it clots. Ummm...I don't thinks so. Finally she relents and says she will meet us at the vet hospital...whewwww. Ok, grab blankets, prep car, do a headcount to ensure we haven't lost any of the others in this excitement...finally at 1:30 AM this morning we are off to see the vet.

We arrive 25 minutes later....after Tracey telling me several times not to speed as the cops will be out in full force. I figure....If they decide to chase me, they are gonna follow me all the way to the vet's cause I ain't stoppin'!! We get Morgan out of the car (now mind you, Tracey has doggy blood on her shirt, pants, rubber gloves....not a pretty sight I must say) and the Dr. Malec meets us at the door. Back through the hall we go to the surgery area....a blood trail the whole way. At this point, we definitely know it ain't gonna stop without the vet's help.

Finally we have found the source. Apparently while chewing on her bone at home, Morgan bit her tongue. Next step...stitches. Tracey and the vet put me on a stool and tell me not to look while they stitch up my sweet baby Morgan. Who knew Tracey could fill is as a vet tech!!! A little sedative, a few stitches, a shot of IV fluids, and Morgan is good as new and the blood has stopped flowing. Whoohoooo!! The funniest part after that....Tracey repeatedly asking Dr. Malec if she can mop up the blood off of the floors...how precious is she. Now me being the numbers cruncher knows that the cleanup fee is gonna be on the bill and at this point it is a little before 3 AM and I just want to take my dog home and get some sleep.

All I got to say is....

1. I love our vet!!!
2. I am thinking we should really look into pet insurance.
3. I can pooper scoop the yard, but the sight of blood does me in.

and last but not least...

I hope the rest of the year is less eventful!!!

Happy New Year Everyone!!!

1 comment:

Lindsay said...

:o( poor morgan. hopefully she/he is healing nicely.

it seems that with all of our accident prone pets, one of us should have become a vet. I vote for tracey since she handled the vet assistant job so well. :o)