Well, so much for thinking I only had a cold. Turns out I have Tracheal Bronchitis. What is that you might ask? I ask the same thing, so please let me know when you figure it out. I googled it and I came up with a bunch of bunk and one link that got my attention. Tracheal Bronchitis in dogs, aka kennel cough.
So there it is. I basically have kennel cough. NICE.
I woke up this morning and had absolutely no voice. That's never happened to me before. I've been squeaky, I've had the whiskey-janis joplin voice, but no voice at all? Never happened. I had to text Alisa to call my Dr. to get me an appointment this morning. I went to work, and as soon as I opened my mouth, the laughs started. Yeah, they aren't too compassionate at my work. Fortunately I was only there for an hour and a half before I had to leave for the Dr.
So at the Dr's office, she asks if I smoke. I very proudly said (whispered) NO, I just quit almost 2 weeks ago. She was obviously happy to hear that, and proceeded to tell me that my lungs were clear, so my infection was in my larynx. This is where she starts spouting off doctor stuff and I'm trying desperately to identify at least every other word she's saying. Really, I'm only listening for those magic words....'I prescribe', and 'antibiotic'. Finally I heard those words, but then she added some unexpected goodness to my visit. 'You need to rest at home, losing your voice is nothing to mess with, can you be off work'. Can I be off work? Did I really just hear that question? Well hell yes I can be off work. I don't remember the last time I had an actual doctor's note, but I have one now. I am to be off work for 2 days so I can 'recover comfortably, and not be tempted to talk at work'. SWEET. My orders are to take my antibiotic, and not talk. Not even whisper. Apparently I am to use hand signals or hang a dry erase board around my neck. Alisa leaves for an out of town work session on Tuesday, so being silent shouldn't be a problem for me for the next couple days. Tonight, however, was a bit difficult. I dare you to try to not talk to someone you live with. It's hard to do, even if you have no voice. When I want to get Alisa's attention, and no words would come out, I would make that clicking noise with my tongue. Sometimes I snap my fingers if she doesn't hear the clicking noise. Fortunately I'm not bothered that she's laughing at me when I do that. It really is comical to see. All I need is a helmet to make sure I don't lick the windows. Ohhhh, I didn't say that.
ANYWAY, I'm on my own for the next few days, 2 of which will be spent completely at home, alone, with the animals and no talking. This will definitely be an experience. Hopefully I don't drive myself bonkers. I will probably be online a lot, just to hang on to my sanity. I can't even call the dogs. I try, but nothing comes out. I wonder how quickly they can react to finger snaps and pointing? We shall see. So far they just look at me funny. As if they are saying 'Mom, why are you squeaking?' I think they only come to me out of curiousity instead of minding me.
Since I can't talk, I will probably blog again very soon. I need to talk SOMEHOW.
And yet again, off to my couch I go. One day I'll be able to sleep horizontally again. Sleeping propped up on the couch is WONDERFUL for the back.
*cough* g'nite *cough*
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment