So Alisa had to work today, which means I was left to do my own thing. Not a difficult thing to do when it's sunny and 75 degrees. I decided to take the GPS, hop in my car (I haven't seen it in a month), and hit the road. Surely with a GPS I won't get lost. Of course, that's only if you turn on the GPS. I start off figuring I know where I need to go first, and I do get there very easily. Then I get back out on the road and I see Macy's. That was one of the stops I wanted to make, and I found it without the help of the GPS. Bonus! I wheel into the parking lot and head into the store, proud as a peacock. As I'm perusing the store, I see 'mall entrance'. Mall entrance? I'm at a mall? Holy crap. What mall am I at? I actually start to go into a mild panic because I know I've only driven a few short miles, and I definitely didn't take a mall entrance. I froze in Macy's, and called Alisa. She asked how I was making out and I said 'uh, I'm sorta at a mall, but I don't know what mall I'm at'. She giggled, then asked me to describe my surroundings. I said Macy's and she informed me I was at the Pembroke Pines Mall. WHEW! I've been to this mall before, but apparently I took a different route. If I had taken a few minutes and actually walked the mall before calling Alisa in a panic, I would have recognized it. But anyway, I manage to make it back to the apartment without the GPS. I'm pretty proud of myself. The fact that I traveled a total of about 10 miles today is not important. It just means we have a lot of amenities near us, which we're totally excited about. Back in Maryland, nothing was within 10 miles of our house. Alisa has already admitted she's spoiled by the convenience of stores down here.
So I get back to the apartment this afternoon, and I start laundry and start prepping for dinner. I'm in Florida, shouldn't I be lying by a pool or on a beach? I should not be watching soaps on a bright sunny Florida day! But, I digress.
I went on an adventure today, just to try to get a little more familiar with the area. I didn't venture far, but I did manage to remember my surroundings, which is a biggie around here. I may be from Cincinnati, but we didn't have intersections that were 6 lanes wide, 4 ways, with U-turns allowed. This is a whole new ballgame. And when the light turns green? If you hesitate for even a millisecond, you'll get honked at. You don't mess with the traffic down here. Even Alisa, little Miss Smalltown, let out with a 'the gas is on the RIGHT'. I was in the passenger seat and I did the only thing I could. I held onto the 'oh shit' handle above the door. I wasn't sure who this person was who was driving, but she sure got my attention! I also had a tear of pride in my eye. My little country bumpkin is becoming citified. And she's lovin it.
I need to get down to Florida soon because she is talking way too much about selling my car and getting a Jeep.
I'll update soon!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
Sounds like you girls are really loving it down there! That's awesome!
Post a Comment