Sunday, January 27, 2008

Duct tape....a must have in any home


I have come to the conclusion that duct tape is a must have in any home...and the new cool colors are sweet too. Last weekend we decided to install that window shrink wrap stuff on the downstairs windows to help with a little draft problem we were having. So Tracey and I get the stuff installed and were really proud of ourselves. Considering neither of us got stuck to the double sided tape, we thought we done good. Now Dozer, our youngest, really likes to lounge in the window sills downstairs. Apparently he got a little ticked off that we blocked his access and decided to show us once again who is really the boss in our house. While we were off at work one day last week, he decided to try and gain access into his window through the shrink wrap leaving about three holes in it. Well I got home and was told about what happend. I realized that I wasn't in the mood to redo the whole window that night so I decided to make a quick fix. Three small pieces of duct tape over the wholes and the draft was gone again. Good as new right? WRONG!!!

After Tracey discovered my quick fix to the problem, she laughed hysterically and then proceeed to tell me I need to fix it the right way over the weekend. My response..."Yes dear." So after a little repair job, the window has been redone and all is well again. At least until Dozer decides he wants to sit in the window again and we play this cat and mouse game all over again. Moral of the story...even if you think it is cool to use duct tape and a pocket knife like MaGyver to fix something around the house...be prepared to find out that your partner doesn't think it is so cool.

Thursday, January 17, 2008

Reasons why I should not be left home alone....

So I have had the pleasure of a few days of R&R...which I might add were much needed....this week. I had a few things on my to-do list to accomplish and the rest of my itinerary was pretty much free time. But after being left alone to my own self for a few days, I have discovered my Top 3 reasons why this shouldn't happen again any time soon.

1. One of the cats mysteriously gets out and I have to go wondering through the yard following paw tracks in the snow. I swear that cat is Houdini. Tracey's response..."Shut the door next time genius". Who knew.

2. Left to peruse the internet, I decide that I should get Tracey a special t-shirt for her upcoming birthday...a rainbow colored palm tree shirt. She likes the beach and purdy palm trees so I thought why not. She proceeds to tell me that she will only wear it to my family functions. Smartarse.

3. Left alone during the day with only the animals causes me to start talking in their language and when I go to the mailbox talking to myself, the neighbors get the weirdest looks on their faces. As if the two chicks living together who wear cargo shorts and muscle shirts to mow the yard didn't cause them some alarm to begin with.

Needless to say, it is a good thing I am back in the office tomorrow.

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

I hope this is not a prelude to the rest of the year.....


So I am sitting in my recliner having just watched the ball drop and having just shared a New Year's toast with Tracey when I happen to notice an area of blood on the living room carpet. Now with 5 animals in the house, I automatically conclude that it has to be one of them. Rascal...nope, Dozer....nope, Pudo....nope, Bristol....nope....and lastly....Morgan....yeap that's the one. So I get Morgan onto the kitchen tile and soon realize that this is more blood than my queazy little tummy can handle. Next step....holler for Tracey to come help. She grabs some dish towels and paper towels, then heads for the rubber gloves. More blood....but where in her mouth is it coming from. By now I am in a mild panic and head for the phone to call the vet. At this point roughly 15 minutes have passed. I get the vet's answering service attendant who asks the usual stuff...name, pet's name, age, medical issue...etc. Finally she says she is going to page the vet on call and have her call us. Less than two minutes pass and the phone rings.....ahhhhh as luck would have it, our vet is the one on call this late night...lucky us!!! So I proceed to explain what is happening, time lapse since it started, all that good stuff. Now remember, my tummy is queazy. Dr. Malec suggests that we wait another 15 minutes to see if it clots. Ummm...I don't thinks so. Finally she relents and says she will meet us at the vet hospital...whewwww. Ok, grab blankets, prep car, do a headcount to ensure we haven't lost any of the others in this excitement...finally at 1:30 AM this morning we are off to see the vet.

We arrive 25 minutes later....after Tracey telling me several times not to speed as the cops will be out in full force. I figure....If they decide to chase me, they are gonna follow me all the way to the vet's cause I ain't stoppin'!! We get Morgan out of the car (now mind you, Tracey has doggy blood on her shirt, pants, rubber gloves....not a pretty sight I must say) and the Dr. Malec meets us at the door. Back through the hall we go to the surgery area....a blood trail the whole way. At this point, we definitely know it ain't gonna stop without the vet's help.

Finally we have found the source. Apparently while chewing on her bone at home, Morgan bit her tongue. Next step...stitches. Tracey and the vet put me on a stool and tell me not to look while they stitch up my sweet baby Morgan. Who knew Tracey could fill is as a vet tech!!! A little sedative, a few stitches, a shot of IV fluids, and Morgan is good as new and the blood has stopped flowing. Whoohoooo!! The funniest part after that....Tracey repeatedly asking Dr. Malec if she can mop up the blood off of the floors...how precious is she. Now me being the numbers cruncher knows that the cleanup fee is gonna be on the bill and at this point it is a little before 3 AM and I just want to take my dog home and get some sleep.

All I got to say is....

1. I love our vet!!!
2. I am thinking we should really look into pet insurance.
3. I can pooper scoop the yard, but the sight of blood does me in.

and last but not least...

I hope the rest of the year is less eventful!!!

Happy New Year Everyone!!!